Makaya McCraven – In The Moment (International Anthem – 2015)

Chicago based International Anthem Records just released a collection of recordings by drummer Makaya McCraven via digital, CD and vinyl formats.  The label describes it as:

Nearly 48 hours of live improvised performance recorded at 1 venue over 12 months and 28 shows – culled, cut, rendered, and remixed into 19 potent pieces of organic beat music.

At $25 plus shipping, the vinyl was a bit pricey for me so I pre-ordered the digital version. It features some guys that I’m very familiar with and a big fan of (like guitarist Jeff Parker and bassist Joshua Abrams), and several of whom that I’m not (for now), like vibraphonist Justefan.  The set is made up of 19 raw live exploratory pieces where some minor overdubs and looping have be added.  At one point, McCraven says something like, “…so basically we’re just making shit up!”. Explaining why I like a record is not something I’m very good at so I’ll just say that I really dig this.

To me, the label’s description certainly calls to mind the Space Exchange series here at the Thunderbird Cafe and the possibilities of releases alot like this one.  One can only hope that something like this is in the works.  Maybe those guys know something I don’t!  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

