Favorite Albums – 2014

flylo_You're_Dead

Flying Lotus
You’re Dead!
Warp

The time of the year has arrived for blogs and magazines to post their “Best Of” lists for the year that was.  I like checking these out because there are always some great records that fly below my radar and I wouldn’t find out about them otherwise.  Even though I listen to many more older albums that newer ones, there are always at least a few albums that stand out in any given year.  The list is short, however, and this prevents me from being able to properly rate them or countdown to my #1 record of the year.  I can say with certainty that Flying LotusYou’re Dead! is my personal pick for 2014’s Best-of-the-Year.  Beyond that, here are a few other releases that I liked in no particular order.

 

images_uploads_album_1500x1500
Budos Band

Burnt Offering
Daptone

MI0003779703
Jason Adasiewicz

From The Region
Delmark

a3751459626_10
mndsgn

Yawn Zen
Stones Throw

Freddie-Gibbs
Freddie Gibbs & Madlib

Pinata
Stones Throw

wb_fn
Wil Blades

Field Notes
Royal Potato Family

amt037_cover

John Lurie National Orchestra
The Invention of Animals
Amulet

with-light-cover-5x5-web

Woods
With Light and With Love
Woodsist

Leave a Reply

