Record/Tape Scores – Erie Edition – 6.14.14

IMG_20140615_205643

Steven Halpern
Spectrum Suite
1976

I spent this weekend with family in Erie, PA.  The weather was pretty nice so I decided to go out and hit a couple of sales in the morning.  I came away with a pile of records that included some meditation and Yoga records and this ambient Steven Halpern record.  The entire first side features Halpern playing ambient instrumental solo pieces on a Fender Rhodes electric piano.  On the second side he is joined by a flute and a guitar.  Cool random find.

However, the biggest score of the day in my opinion was the pile of classic hip hop cassettes shown below, or as Robert Walter of the Greyboy Allstars called them on my Instagram post, a “nice stack of awesome”!  I love hip hop cassettes.  This was the format that I grew up with for this kind of music and it has a special place in my heart.  Plus, my car still has a tape deck!  I left a few behind because they were a little pricier than I had hoped, but now I’m regretting that decision.

IMG_20140615_210758

Leave a Reply

