Earl Sweatshirt – Doris (2013)

The debut album by 19 year old L.A. based MC, Earl Sweatshirt, entitled Doris was released earlier this week. Sweatshirt is a member of the Odd Future collective, which also includes Tyler The Creator, Frank Ocean, Casey Veggies, and Domo Genesis.  I can’t say that I know much, or anything, about Odd Future or any of it’s members, so I won’t pretend to.  However, this release has been covered pretty heavily on sites such a Potholes In My Blog over the last several weeks.  So much so, that I felt like I HAD to check out Doris for myself.

Now that I’ve spent a couple of days with it, I can say that I really like this album.  To put it simply, the beats are good and I like his flow.  I like raw hip hop beats, i.e. Madlib, J Dilla, and RZA (who actually contributes a track here), that use chopped samples and enough space for the lyrics.  I also dig Sweatshirt’s laid back and thoughtful lyrical style.  His flow reminds me a little of MF Doom and, in my opinion, some of the tracks on Doris sound heavily influenced by the 2004 Madvillainy LP (Stones Throw), which is one of my favorite records of all time.

The top video is for one of the better tracks from Doris entitled “Hive”.  I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of career Sweatshirt will have.  With a debut like this at the age of 19, he is off to a pretty good start.

Here’s Sweatshirt’s performance of “Burgundy” on Jimmy Fallon’s show backed by The Roots.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

