Spanky Wilson – 7.20.13 – Riverview Park, Pittsburgh, PA

Image

On Saturday evening, I took the family out to Riverview Park to see a free show by jazz and soul vocalist, Spanky WilsonI Dig Pgh has a great piece on Spanky here.  I didn’t know what to expect from this show going in, and as I said on this blog before, I really like going to shows, especially free shows, when I don’t know what exactly I’m going to hear.

Negative reviews are not my thing.  So I will say that it was a beautiful night out with the family and I’m glad we went.  Musically, however, I hoped Spanky and her band were going to sound something like this…

or this…

Here is what Spanky’s set sounded like on Saturday….

Spanky Wilson – vocals
Alton Merrell – piano
Paul Thompson – bass
Thomas Wendt – drums

Leave a Reply

