Rudresh Mahanthappa’s Gamak – 6.8.13 – Pittsburgh, PA

rudresh

Rudresh Mahanthappa’s Gamak
6.8.13
Jazz Live International Festival
Pittsburgh, PA

Rudresh Mahanthappa – sax
David Fiuczynski – guitar
Francois Moutin – bass
Dan Weiss – drums

The two sets that I really wanted to see on Saturday at the 3rd Annual Jazz Live International Festival in Pittsburgh were Pat Martino Trio and Rudresh Mahanthappa.  As the day progressed I realized that I would not be able to be there for both and that I had to choose one.  I didn’t know exactly what to expect from Mahanthappa and that appealed to me, so I chose this set.

I wish I could have gotten a bit closer to the stage., but this year there was a VIP section of seats right in front.  I assume they were selling weekend VIP passes and offering seats for those who paid.  The festival was free to the rest of us, so we had to stand along the sides and in back.  I’m not sure if this was a great idea on the organizers’ part since almost all of the VIP seats were empty.  Rudresh even commented on the all of the empty seats before they started saying something like, “Are you guys not allowed to sit up here?  I have one extra pass that you all can share!”  But, it was a cool set.  It would have been great to have seen Pat Martino, but I think I made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

