Record Scores – 6.2.13 – Pt. 1

Image

Last weekend, in my infinite search for records, and more specifically jazz records, I scored pretty heavily.  I’ve become accustomed to looking through a ton of garbage records with the best possible outcome being a discovery of 1 or 2 records that I am vaguely interested in.  However, sometimes a day like this comes along where I’m lucky enough to find a pile of records that are very specific to my interests, i.e. jazz, funk, soul, psych and reggae.  It’s going to take some time to go through these records, clean them, and check them all out, but there aren’t many things that I love to do more than this.

Here are a few that I’ve gotten to so far.

oliphant

Grassella Oliphant
The Grass Is Greener
Altantic – 1967

joejones

Joe Jones
The Psychedelic Soul Jazz Guitar of Joe Jones
Prestige – 1968

      hotdog
Lou Donaldson
Hot Dog
Blue Note – 1969

hawes
Hampton Hawes

Universe
Prestige – 1972

wright
Leo Wright

Soul Talk
Vortex – 1970

levy_simba
O’Donel Levy
Simba
Groove Merchant – 1974

mainieri
Mike Mainieri

Journey Through An Electric Tube
Solid State – 1968

Leave a Reply

