Record Scores – 5.4.13

Record Scores - 5.4.13

I found a few nice records at a yard sale this weekend. Since the Stones records are not very relevant to this blog, I won’t say much other than that I love both of these records. I had a copy of Their Satanic Majesties Request but, somehow, a nice clean copy of Exile On Main Street has eluded me (until now!).

Have Trumpet Will Excite by Dizzy Gillespie (Verve 1959) is similar to a couple of other of Diz’s records that I have, The Ebullient Mr. Gillespie and The Cool World soundtrack, where he’s playing in a hard bop style with a small group. Have Trumpet is a very chill record. Everything is pretty mellow and all of the solos are clean and pretty. I’ve really enjoyed listening to it the past few mornings while getting ready for work. Overall, a pretty good find for a buck.

Dizzy Gillespie – trumpet
Junior Mance – piano
Lex Humphries – drums
Sam Jones – double bass
Les Spann – guitar
Carlos “Patato” Valdes – conga

Here is the first track, “My Heart Belongs To Daddy”.

Leave a Reply

