Permanent Vacation Dance Scene – “Up There In Orbit” by Earl Bostic

The dance scene in On The Road made me think about this dance scene from Jim Jarmusch’s Permanent Vacation from 1980. When I saw this movie years ago, I was not yet familiar with Earl Bostic and his song “Up There In Orbit”, but I really dug it.  Since then, I’ve picked up a few of his records and have become a big fan.  His records sort of vary in quality depending on the year or the record label, but the good ones are really good!  I don’t remember much else about this film, but this scene really stuck with me.

Leave a Reply

