Record Scores – 2.13.13

Image

I picked up a few records at the thrift store yesterday on my lunch break.  Some people like to eat lunch on their lunch break, but I’d prefer looking for records.  Most days I end up looking through all the bullshit typical thrift store garbage.  But, once in a while, I have a day like this, and it makes all those other days worth it.  I definitely would not consider this an incredible day, but for the price, I found some nice things for sure.

So far, I’ve only been able to listen to a couple of these.  But, hands down, the best thing in the whole lot is For Those Who Chant by Luis Gasca from 1971.  I’ve never seen this before before but the cover is cool, it has Joe Henderson on tenor sax, Carlos Santana on guitar, and it was recorded in 1971. This LP is pretty incredible all around.  Here’s a video of the first track on side B, “Spanish Gypsy”.

 

The Gil Scott Heron & Brian Jackson 1980 LP is exactly as expected, late 70’s funky disco.  But, that’s all I’ve gotten to so far.  The Bud Powell should be cool and the live Mongo Santamaria stuff has potential.  There are also a few that are not pictured here like some Bossa Nova comps, Freddie Hubbard, and Otis Redding among others.

Leave a Reply

