Hadley Caliman – Iapetus – 1972

There’s a new record store in Lawrenceville called Unifaun Records. He’s been open for at least a few weeks now and I finally had a chance to stop in on Saturday. His inventory was pretty small but he had some decent stuff. The owner just moved to Pgh from New York, so he had stuff priced at “New York” prices. Pittsburgh’s very fortunate to have so many record stores in town, especially Jerry’s, which makes prices here a bit more reasonable than other places.

I came across this Hadley Caliman LP. I had never seen it or heard of it. I’ve never heard of Hadley Caliman or any of the musicans on the record, but it looked promising and Unifaun has a listening station. I dig it. It has that early 70’s electric sound in the same vein as Freddie Hubbard’s Straight Life and Joe Henderson’s Power To The People or something like that. This could have easily been priced at $10-$20, but I got it for $5. I still need to listen to it more, but so far I like it alot.

Leave a Reply

